A little bit more about benitez

Liverpool Football Club - General Discussion

Postby Spanishfan » Thu Jun 24, 2004 12:16 am

This is Benitez being interviewed by Valencia fans on the net. Hope it is interesting to you.

ESTHEROIDE:
When did you start coaching?

RB. At the age of 16 I was already coaching amateur teams at the holiday resort I used to go. Later on at university I was a player manager

Do you see yourself as Valencia coach for many years like they do at Bayern or Man Utd?

I would love to do that, but that is unlikely in Spanish football. I have one year more and then we'll see.

Francisco José Zaragozá:
Sorry to have my doubts about you before seing you working. Who is your favourite coach?

I've studied many coaches live, but the ones I admire most are Sacchi, Maturana and Johan Cruyff. I complement my formation reading a lot, watching many videos, travelling, my own analysis, and talking to small team coaches. All that improves your knowledge.

August Lorente:
How do you deal with players misbehaviour?

We have regulations that deal with these problems( timekeeping, mobile phones, insubordination). Those who don't follow the rules are dealt with internally and we move on.

o Jose Vicente Pla:
Have youe ever felt alone at the club?

RB When you ask me that is becuase you belive that has been the case. Here very few give you support when we get bad results, but there is always someone who does. I am honest with you: since I started coming to this forum I noticed that I wasn't as alone as I thought. Thank you.
o J.E.Romero y Adrián:
Valencia Supporters are convinced that at home with a more attacking formation, i.e. diamond midfield and two strikers, we would be better off. What's your opinion?